October Online Income Report

Here's my online income report where I share how I made money blogging, writing and virtual assisting.If you’re new here I’ve posted income reports ever since I started this blog, four years ago. I initially had goals of making a few hundred dollars per month and then slowly growing that amount. Luckily, that’s what I’ve been able to do.

In 2012 I decided that earning money online was going to be the only way I could create the life I wanted living in a small town with no good job options. I dove in head first and started trying things out. I’ve failed at sooo many different things and have had great successes with others.

As of now I earn an income through being a freelance writer, virtual assistant, and blogger. (And yes, I know how crazy that sounds to most people!)

October Income

October was better than September but only slightly and I’m pretty sure I’ve got it figured out.

You see, I changed my blog theme a couple months ago thinking things would be more streamlined. While I knew ad revenue would go down since I took one of the main ones away I figured the less busy site would help other areas grow. Only, it didn’t!

When I switched themes all of my income sources went down. I played with things a little bit but it just wasn’t working out. It was an interesting experiment even if it did cost me a couple thousand dollars. #Ooops. And it’s one of those things that you just can’t predict.

What I thought would work didn’t and so I switched her back.

Okay, I’ll stop yammering about themes and get on to the income report. In October I earned a total of $7,171.39

october-online-income-report

(Screenshot from GoDaddy Bookkeeping)

It broke down like this:

  • Freelance Work (Writing and Virtual Assistant Biz) $1,500
  • Ads on This Blog $1,667.10 (ouch!)
  • Affiliate Commissions $4,004.29
  • Sponsored Posts – $0

It appears that my affiliate income went up but that’s a bit misleading. Around $1,400 of that was from an affiliate promotion in February that I just got paid for. So it’s not something that will be recurring on a monthly basis.

P.S. If you’re confused about what any of these income report categories mean check out this post.

Tips for Creating Multiple Streams of Income

Over the past few months I’ve been very grateful for having multiple streams of income. When one goes down I still have the others to count on and it’d be very unlikely that I’d lose everything all at once. This works especially well if you learn to live on less than you make and also have your savings to fall back on!

If you’re currently working on creating multiple streams of income for your blog or online business I do have a tip that will help: get really good at one thing before you move to the next.

When I started earning money online I focused on freelance writing. I got good at finding clients and eventually had more writing jobs than I wanted. I still needed to earn more money so instead of adding to the writing list I began offering virtual assistant services.

In blogging I first set up sidebar ads and then learned how to get traffic to my site so that they would make money. Even when I had a much lower traffic I earned fairly well with my ads. After I figured that out I started focusing on affiliates (which I’m still working on.)

If you’re like me you can easily be distracted by a gazillion different things. Force yourself to get one thing just how you want it and THEN move on to the next. It will take a lot of the pain out of creating more than one income stream.

Tips for Getting Started

If you’re in the idea generation phase here are some common ways to earn money online as well as how to get started.

I hope you had a fantastic October!

Every month I share my online income report from blogging, writing and being a virtual assistant. Here's a breakdown of how I made $7,171.39 in October.

The post October Online Income Report appeared first on Single Moms Income.

from Single Moms Income http://singlemomsincome.com/october-online-income-report-2/
via IFTTT

Leave a Reply

